Some people cannot eat gluten, which is a protein in wheat, barley and rye. They can develop potentially life-threatening illnesses if they eat the gluten found in breads, cakes, cereals, pastas and many other foods. Many processed foods have hidden gluten, such as ketchup, mustard, soy sauce, frozen entrees, salad dressing and candy.
If you want to avoid eating foods that contain gluten, look for products that are marked as “gluten-free.” Read product labels and check ingredients carefully. The Healthy Living department at Tamimi Markets has a special section of gluten-free foods that are also organic, natural or made without artificial ingredients.